top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYour Virtual Traveler

My Quarantine Journey (The Covid-19 Chronicles)

As of this writing, it has been almost 5 months that we are on a quarantine. Why? All because of the scary Covid-19 Pandemic that hits worldwide including our country, the Philippines.


What is Covid-19?


Corona virus disease (COVID-19) is an infectious disease caused by a newly discovered corona virus. Most people infected with the COVID-19 virus will experience mild to moderate respiratory illness and recover without requiring special treatment.  Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like cardiovascular disease, diabetes, chronic respiratory disease, and cancer are more likely to develop serious illness. The best way to prevent and slow down transmission is to protect ourselves by regular hand washing, disinfect using alcohol, wearing of mask and to stay home. Just like other country, we had been to a quarantine up to this moment.


Quarantine Journey Begins


My quarantine journey begins on March 15, 2020. A week before that, our company has already planning to simulate a work from home setup since we are a travel software company as a preparation since our global branches has been on this setup. But even before the simulation starts, the government announces that the country be put into an Enhanced Community Quarantine. At first, it was nothing to me but as days go by, and things were being implemented, I already sense a panic state. People are doing panic buying, alcohols which is a necessity has been out of stock or was selling as hot as pancake. I even came to a point that I also did panic shopping. Its better to be prepared for my family. It goes on for months.


To ease the boredom of being at home and the stress of hearing the high mortality all over the news, I let myself explore. I tried cooking which I am not good at, I tried baking. Then I thought, why not enroll to online classes.


While doing social media browsing, I stumbled upon the Filipino Virtual Assistance at their Facebook page. I joined the group immediately and hear a lot of good feedback, and the day of my birthday, I enrolled in their freelancing course. It was new to me. I am learning a lot. This ease my boredom. Its never to late to learn new stuffs. I am still on the verge of learning and on the midst of which niche should I take. I still have my traditional job, and who knows someday I will also pursue my freelancing full time.


For those, who want to learn and discover the freelancing world, you may join and enroll at the Filipino Virtual Assistance.


For Freelancing needs, you may view some of my Portfolios on my site.


Keep safe!




5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page